CBHS celebrates Founder’s Week, Recognizes Faculty, Honors Dean Pratt

CBHS celebrates Founder’s Week, Recognizes Faculty, Honors Dean Pratt

The students and faculty of Christian Brothers High School celebrated Founder’s Week April 3 - 7. “This week was dedicated to remembering St. John Baptist de La Salle and his life and the mission he founded for the Brothers of the Christian Schools,” said Lindsey Neuman, English teacher and Lasallian Animator. “Throughout the week, there were various activities to promote La Salle’s influence. The week gave everyone an opportunity to appreciate the mission La Salle started and the influence that mission maintains at CBHS.”

During the April 5 faculty meeting, faculty and staff members were honored for their dedication to the Lasallian mission and CHBS through a Celebration of Service. In recognition of their years of service to the CBHS community, the following faculty and staff members were honored: 5 years - Matt Erickson, Jennifer McConnell, Brandon Pearce, William Rolfe, Whitney Shelton, Cathlyn Tsirgiotis, Justin Whitmer; 10 years - Angelo Lucchesi, Rusty Morris; 15 years - Vincente Balderas, Shawn Kelly, Tish Montesi, Jay Ranson; 20 years - John Brignole, Stephen Marking; and 25 years - Br. Michael Fugger, FSC.  Also, College Counselor Valerie Jones, who is retiring this year, was honored for her 27 years of service to the school. She was presented a concrete garden sculpture by her fellow "Sisters of the Brothers."


The inaugural Lasallian Founder’s Awards event was held April 6 in Heffernan Hall in recognition of those who exemplify the core Lasallian principles. 1965 CBHS graduate George Pratt, a teacher, coach, and Dean for more than 45 years at the school, received the Founder’s Award for commitment to quality education. “The faculty, parents, and alumni at CBHS are all so special,” said Pratt. “During all my time here I have always been so proud to say I work at Christian Brothers High School.”


The annual Founder’s Day Mass, commemorating the feast day of our founder, St. John Baptist de La Salle, was celebrated during an April 7 morning all-school assembly. Msgr. John McArthur '66, AFSC, an affiliated brother, celebrated the Liturgy. During that Mass, students witnessed the seven brothers who teach and work at CBHS renew their vows and promises to the Brothers’ Institute, thus committing themselves to another year of serving students and following De La Salle’s mission: Brother Henry Baldwin, FSC, Brother Michael Fugger, FSC, Brother David Poos, FSC, Brother Joel McGraw, FSC, Brother Phil Jones, FSC, Brother Chris Englert, FSC, and Brother Roman Jarosz, FSC.


CLICK HERE for the Celebration of Service slide show presentation.

CLICK HERE for the Memories slide show presentation.